The Secret to Finding Peace in Your Day

The Secret to Finding Peace in Your Day

seeds that you plantI don’t know about you, but I think I need to tattoo this quote on my forehead! I get so caught up in judging my days by what I accomplished, what I checked off my to-do list, what I have harvested. I often forget that the value of my day is not measured by how many tasks I managed to rush through. The seeds that I plant for myself and my family are far more important than the number of check marks I accrue.

I often feel inadequate to the task of raising these 6 kiddos. Do you ever feel that way? Ever wonder how it is that you were chosen for such an awesome responsibility as being a parent? I do. Almost every day! But then I come across quotes like this one and heave a sigh of relief. It really isn’t about pouring knowledge or virtue into them, but lighting a fire within them that they seek it on their own.

This got me to thinking. What seeds am I sowing? How can I be more intentional with the hours of the day so that when the harvest does come I can be sure it sprang from good seeds? Basically, what are my priorities?

Here’s what I’ve come up with…

  1. Close Relationships
  2. Caring for the Body: Exercise, Time Outside, Healthy Eating, Sleep & Rest
  3. Caring for the Mind: Reading, Thinking, Communicating, Problem Solving
  4. Caring for the Soul: Prayer, Meditation, Music, Art, Play

This is not a definitive list by far. It is more like a work-in-progress, but I share it because, as parents, we often carry too much guilt over what we feel we aren’t doing well enough. Shifting our perspective to the planting of seeds rather than the harvest reminds us that it is the daily, small ways that we tend to our children that make the most difference. The harvest will come, but it takes time.  Can you hear me sighing with relief?  Knowing that I don’t have to do it all or be it all brings me so much peace.  Instead, I can rest in the assurance that seeds well planted will reap a beautiful harvest.

So what would be on your list? What seeds do you want to sow? Will you leave a note in the comments and so that we can encourage each other to look not only to the harvest but to the quality of our seeds?  Or you can pop on over to Facebook and join the conversation there.  Can’t wait to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

